ESPI Celebrating 15 years of excellence - Fly Scholarship. Get 100% fee waiver on IELTS coaching fees*. Get flat 50% on IELTS exam fees*. Get IELTS free Material, free access to Library*. ESPI Consultants is a one stop solution for all your Travel needs. Passport, Visa Assistance, Coaching, Air ticketing, Leisure holiday packages. Our services are just a call away !!
Register For FLY Scholarship
visa uk min - About UK Visa About UK Visa

About UK

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

flaguk - About UK Visa

Coat of arms - About UK Visa

Coat of Arms

Motto:”God and my right”

Capital and largest city

51°30′N 0°7′W

Official languages


Recognized regional languages

  • Irish
  • Scottish Gaelic
  • Scots
  • Ulster-Scots
  • Welsh
  • Cornish

Ethnic groups(2001)

  • 92.1% White
  • 4.0% South Asian
  • 2.0% Black
  • 1.2% Mixed
  • 0.4% Chinese
  • 0.4% other




British, Briton


Unitary parliamentaryconstitutional monarchy withdevolved governments
Monarch Queen Elizabeth II
Prime Minister David Cameron MP


Upper house House of Lords
Lower house House of Commons


Acts of Union 1707 1 May 1707
Acts of Union 1800 1 January 1801
Anglo-Irish Treaty 6 December 1922


Total 243,610 km2(80th)
94,060 sq mi
Water(%) 1.34


2011 census 63,181,775(22nd)
Density 255.6/km2 (51st)
661.9/sq mi


2012 estimate
Total $2.316 trillion(8th)
Per capita $36,728


2012 estimate
Total $2.434 trillion(6th)
Per capita $38,591




very high · 26th


Pound sterling(GBP)

Time zone

Summer(DST) BST (UTC+1)

Date format

dd/mm/yyyy (AD)

Drives on the


Calling code


ISO 3166 code


Internet TLD


The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK) or Britain, is a sovereign state located off the northwestern coast of continental Europe. The country includes the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland, and many smaller islands. Northern Ireland is the only part of the UK that shares a land border with another state—the Republic of Ireland. Apart from this land border, the UK is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean in the west and north, the North Sea in the east, the English Channel in the south, and the Irish Sea in the west.

The UK’s form of government is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system and its capital city is London. It is one of the Commonwealth Realms. The United Kingdom consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The latter three have devolved administrations, each with varying powers, based in their capital cities, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast, respectively. Guernsey, Jersey and the Isle of Man are Crown dependencies and are not part of the UK. The United Kingdom has fourteen British Overseas Territories. These are remnants of the British Empire which, at its height in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, encompassed almost a quarter of the world’s land mass and was the largest empire in history. British influence can be observed in the language, culture and legal systems of many of its former colonies.

The United Kingdom is a developed country and has the world’s sixth-largest economy by nominal GDP and the eighth – largest economy by purchasing power parity. It was the world’s first industrialized country and the world’s foremost power during the 19th and early 20th centuries. The UK remains a great power with considerable economic, cultural, military, scientific and political influence internationally.

The UK has been a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council since its first session in 1946. It has been a member of the European Union (EU) and its predecessor the European Economic Community (EEC) since 1973; it is also a member of the Commonwealth of Nations, the Council of Europe, the G7, the G8, the G20, NATO, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO).