ESPI Celebrating 15 years of excellence - Fly Scholarship. Get 100% fee waiver on IELTS coaching fees*. Get flat 50% on IELTS exam fees*. Get IELTS free Material, free access to Library*. ESPI Consultants is a one stop solution for all your Travel needs. Passport, Visa Assistance, Coaching, Air ticketing, Leisure holiday packages. Our services are just a call away !!
Register For FLY Scholarship
europe - About Europe About Europe

About Europe

image001 - About EuropeEurope is the World’s second-smallest continent – 10,180,000 km² covering approximately 6.7% of the Earth’s land and 2% of the Earth’s surface .

It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the west, the Arctic Ocean to the north and the Mediterranean Sea to the south. The Ural mountains in Russia mark the eastern extreme.

The southern regions are higher and include the Pyrenees, the Alps and the Carpathian mountain ranges.

The longest river in Europe is the Volga (2,850 km) in Russia.

The highest mountain is Elbrus (5,642 m) in Russia.

List Of Countries

image003 - About EuropeAlbania
image004 - About Europe Andorra (Principality of)
image005 - About Europe Armenia
image006 - About Europe Austria (EU)
image007 - About Europe Azerbaijan
image008 - About Europe Belarus
image009 - About Europe Belgium (EU)
image010 - About Europe Bosnia and Herzegovina
image011 - About Europe Bulgaria (EU)
image012 - About Europe Croatia (EU)
image013 - About Europe Czech Republic (EU)
image014 - About Europe Cyprus (EU)
image015 - About Europe Denmark (EU)
image016 - About Europe Estonia (EU)
image017 - About Europe Finland (EU)
image018 - About Europe France (EU)
image019 - About Europe Georgia
image020 - About Europe Germany (EU)
image021 - About Europe Greece (EU)
image022 - About Europe Hungary (EU)
image023 - About Europe Iceland Note: Geologically located in Europe and North America. (Official Candidate of EU.)
image024 - About Europe Ireland (EU)
image025 - About EuropeItaly (EU)
image026 - About Europe Kazakhstan Note: Geologically located in Europe and Asia
image027 - About Europe Latvia (EU)
image028 - About Europe Liechtenstein
image029 - About Europe Lithuania (EU)
image030 - About Europe Luxembourg (EU)
image031 - About Europe Malta (EU)
image032 - About Europe Moldova
image033 - About Europe Monaco
image034 - About Europe Montenegro (Official Candidate of EU.)
image035 - About Europe Netherlands (EU)
image036 - About Europe Norway
image037 - About Europe Poland (EU)
image038 - About Europe Portugal (EU)
image039 - About Europe Republic of Macedonia (Official Candidate of EU.)
image040 - About Europe Romania (EU)
image041 - About Europe Russia
image042 - About Europe Serbia (Official Candidate of EU.)
image043 - About Europe Slovakia (EU)
image044 - About Europe Slovenia (EU)
image045 - About Europe Spain (EU)
image046 - About Europe Sweden (EU)
image047 - About Europe Switzerland
image048 - About Europe Turkey Note: Geologically located in Europe and Asia. (Official Candidate of EU.)
image049 - About Europe Ukraine
image050 - About EuropeUnited Kingdom (Leaving EU in March 2019)
image051 - About Europe Vatican City

Regions & Seasons

Europe can be broadly divided into three regions as shown on the map left.

Europe can also be divided according to European Union member states and non-member states as shown on the map right.

Europe lies entirely in the Northern hemisphere and has four distinct seasons

Spring March, April, May
Summer June, July, August
Autumn September, October, November
Winter December, January, February


The climate of Europe can be broadly divided into five different climate types:

Deciduous forest – Four distinct seasons with warm summers and cold, wet winters. The trees shed their leaves in autumn.

Coniferous forest – Also known as Taiga, cold and dry with snowy winters and warmer summers.

Mediterranean – Warm to high temperatures with rainfall in the autumn and winter months.

Grassland – Hot summers and cold winters with above average rainfall.

Tundra – This area is characterised by a layer of permafrost (soil that has remained below freezing for at least two years. Winters are very cold, summers are warm and there is little rainfall.


Schengen Area – World’s largest passport-free zone

Named after “the Schengen Agreement” signifies a zone where 26 different European nations, acknowledged the abolishment of their internal borders with other member nations, for the free and unrestricted movement of people, in harmony with common rules for controlling external borders and fighting criminality by strengthening common judicial system and police cooperation.

List of Schengen Area Countries

The 26 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Through Schengen zone, borders between European countries are only existent on maps, as to over 400 million nationals of 26 member countries the freedom of traveling passport check and border control free within and outside the area is guaranteed, as within a single country, since every country share the common travel and movement rights.


image006 - About EuropeAustria -
image009 - About EuropeBelgium -
image013 - About EuropeCzech Republic – LINK
image015 - About EuropeDenmark -
image016 - About EuropeEstonia
image017 - About EuropeFinland–
image018 - About EuropeFrance -
image020 - About EuropeGermany -
image021 - About EuropeGreece-
image022 - About EuropeHungary -
image023 - About EuropeIceland
image025 - About EuropeItaly
image027 - About EuropeLatvia
image029 - About EuropeLithuania
image030 - About EuropeLuxembourg
image031 - About EuropeMalta
image035 - About EuropeNetherlands
image036 - About EuropeNorway
image037 - About EuropePoland
image038 - About EuropePortugal
image043 - About EuropeSlovakia
image045 - About EuropeSpain
image046 - About EuropeSweden
image047 - About EuropeSwitzerland
image028 - About EuropeLiechtenstein